Regret a text? WhatsApp will soon let you delete it - on both sides
WhatsApp will soon roll out a new update which will let users delete sent messages, including pictures and videos.
The Facebook-owned messaging service is releasing a new 'Delete for Everyone' feature that will let you unsend messages.
WhatsApp looks to be in the final testing stages with the servers now able to handle recalling messages that have already been sent.
According to WABetaInfo, a Twitter account focused on WhatsApp beta, Delete For Everyone is drawing near to its release date.
WABetaInfo said: “DELETE FOR EVERYONE FEATURE: WhatsApp is finally testing the Delete for Everyone feature: the server finally works and it successfully recalls the message.
“Also if the server works, this does not mean that the feature is currently enabled.
“It will be remotely enabled later, and seen that WhatsApp “enabled” their servers for the Delete for Everyone feature, it may really be enabled soon.”
In a later tweet they added once a message is deleted it will be removed from the Notification Centre.
Rumours suggest that the feature only allows you to remove messages sent within 5 minutes.
The new feature, which is coming to iOS and Android, will reportedly work on all types of WhatsApp messages, including texts, images, videos, GIFs, documents and Status reply.